Angus CouncilTel: 08452 777 778

Angus Book Award 2013

And the winner is....

Winning author Teri Terry with her trophy
Winning author Teri Terry with her trophy

Teri Terry, for her novel Slated published by Orchard Books. Teri was presented with her trophy, a replica of the Aberlemno Serpent Stone and £500, on the 5th June at Arbroath High School. The ceremony was attended by all shortlisted authors and participating pupils.

After several months of debate, decision making and a secret ballot in the eight Angus secondary schools, the four shortlisted authors arrived from all over the UK to visit schools and speak to the participating pupils.

On his visits to Carnoustie High School and Forfar Academy, Tim Bowler spoke of how he became a full-time writer and about his mother still having copies of stories he wrote as a young boy, which he recited from memory. Encouraging pupils to be patient with their writing, he told them that writing can be ‘slow-burner’ when it comes to establishing and finding your own voice. Visiting Arbroath High and Montrose Academy, William Osborne wowed both pupils and staff with his experiences in Hollywood and what led him to change direction in his writing career. He described his research process and explained how the writing techniques he had developed as a scriptwriter fed into the fast paced and action packed style of his books for young people. Chris Priestley talked about his influences for Mister Creecher, enthralling pupils in Brechin and Webster’s High Schools with dark tales of the original Frankenstein story and the extraordinary life of its creator Mary Shelley. He talked about writing scary stories nd how to use your own fears and phobias as a basis to ‘give people nightmares’. Despite the talk of fear, ghosts and monsters the scariest part of the master of dark tales was undoubtedly the bright purple shoes. On her visits to Arbroath Academy and Monifieth High School, Teri Terry described how she had woken up one morning and had written down a particularly vivid dream in exact detail. This became the Prologue to ‘Slated’. Teri highlighted the fact that she felt that young writers shouldn’t feel restricted by the need to be technically accurate in their first draft but should feel free to express what is in their imagination.

Competitions were run for the best designed alternative book jacket and the best book blurb of the shortlisted novels. This year’s lucky participants are Mirren Wallace of Forfar Academy for her version of Mr. Creecher and for the winning book blurb of Slated by Shaun Powell of Arbroath Academy

With both authors and pupils waiting to hear the result of the secret ballot, the atmosphere was one of nervous anticipation at the evening event, hosted this year by pupils from Arbroath High. Pupils from all schools introduced the short film presentations that were created by each school on each of the books and why they deserved to win. The authors then spoke of their appreciation on being shortlisted for the Award. Finally the waiting was over and Fraser Scott and Kimberly Nicholson of Arbroath High School opened the golden envelope and announced the winner.

Accepting the award, Teri Terry said “I’m absolutely thrilled to win the Angus Book Award tonight. I've had a fantastic time in Angus."

Huge thanks not only to Arbroath High for all the excellent support and great effort made in being hosts at this year’s ceremony, but also to everyone who contributed to what was another successful Angus Book Award.

Shortlisted Author and MCs: William Osborne, Chris Priestley, Tim Bowler, Fraser Scott, Teri Terry and Kimberly Nicholson
Shortlisted Author and MCs: William Osborne, Chris Priestley, Tim Bowler,
Fraser Scott, Teri Terry and Kimberly Nicholson
Share |