Angus CouncilTel: 08452 777 778

Angus Community Councils


Community Councils were introduced in 1975 when local government was reformed and the former, smaller town councils, were abolished. The objective was to ensure there could be input from the "grassroots" to the then new two-tier structure of Regional and District Councils.

The Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 continued the role of the Community Councils in the new single-tier organisations.

In June 1999, the McIntosh report, dealing with the relationship between the new Parliament and local government, recommended that the system of community councils should be retained, taking into account the requirement for local Councils to draw up decentralisation plans under the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994.


The purpose of community councils is to ascertain, co-ordinate and express the views of the community it represents to local authorities and other pubic bodies.

Specific arrangements are made the by Council for consultation on planning applications. This includes community councils appointing one person as their point of contact for all planning matters. Also, as part of the consultation arrangements, all community councils are sent a weekly list of all planning applications.

There are 25 community councils in Angus, 24 of which are currently operational.

The postcode search or the map below, will provide further information on each community council such as membership, meetings and contact details.


  1. Aberlemno
  2. Auchterhouse
  3. Carnoustie
  4. Ferryden & Craig
  5. Friockheim
  6. Glamis
  7. Hillside, Dun & Logie Pert
  8. Inverarity
  9. Inveresk
  10. Kirriemuir
  11. Kirriemuir Landward East
  12. Kirriemuir Landward West
  13. Letham & District
Clickable map of Community Council Areas Aberlemo Auchterhouse Carnoustie Ferryden & Craig Friockem Glamis HILLSIDE, DUN AND LOGIE PERT Inverarity Inveresk Kirriemuir Kirriemuir Landward East Kirriemuir Landward West Letham & District Montrose Lunanhead & District Monifieth Monikie & Newbigging Muirhead, Birkhill and Liff MURROES & Wellbank Newtyle & Eassie Strathmartine Tealing The City of Brechin & District The Royal Burgh of Arbroath Forfar
  1. Lunanhead & District
  2. Monifieth
  3. Monikie & Newbigging
  4. Montrose
  5. Muirhead, Birkhill and Liff
  6. Murroes & Wellbank
  7. Newtyle & Eassie
  8. Strathmartine
  9. Tealing
  10. City of Brechin & District
  11. Royal Burgh of Arbroath
  12. Royal Burgh of Forfar

Scheme for Establishment of Community Councils

All local authorities are responsible for setting up what is known as a Community Council Scheme (220K PDF)Opens in a new window. This Scheme provides the framework for the operation of community councils and also includes model constitutions and standing orders.

Policy Statement on the Council's Relationship with Angus Community Councils

In order to strengthen the Council's relationship with Angus Community Councils a Policy Statement on the Council's Relationship with Angus Community Councils (14 KB PDF)Opens in a new window was agreed in October 2003 and revised in November 2013. This provides a code of practice between Angus Council and the Angus Community Councils and outlines how the partnership will be developed.

Good Practice Agreement with Community Councils

As part of its Best Value development, Angus Council has carried out a review of corporate communications with community councils. One of the recommendations in the improvement plan stemming from that review was to develop a Good Practice Agreement with community councils.

Following the recent review of the Scheme for Establishment of Community Councils this policy is currently under review.

Bi-annual Meetings

Angus Council, as part of its commitment to improve communications with community councils, agreed to hold Bi-annual meetings with Angus Councillors and Community Councillors. These meetings are usually held in June and December of each year.

View Bi-annual Meeting minutes.

Also, in 1999, the Council, introduced a general system of marking long service by community councillors. A scroll and quaich are presented to those community councillors who have completed over 20 years continuous service and this usually takes place at the Bi-annual meetings.

Community Council Grants

All community councils receive, in October of each year, an annual administration grant from Angus Council. The amount of the grant is based on the population of the community council area. Further details of the grant allocation (30 KB PDF)Opens in a new window and information about the composition and ratio to population for each community councils are available.

Information Booklet for Community Councillors

View the Information Booklet for Community Councillors

This handbook has been developed to provide all Angus community councillors with some of the essential background and operational information that they need to operate as effectively as is possible, with agreed rights and responsibilities. The booklet summarises the most relevant points for community councillors included in the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, Policy Statements and the Good Practice Agreement.

Following the recent review of the Scheme for Establishment of Community Councils this handbook is currently under review.

For further information on community councils, see the Community Councils A-Z page.

For further information contact:

Community Engagement Officer
Angus House
Orchardbank Business Park
Forfar DD8 1AX

Tel: 01307 476128
Fax: 01307 473783
Out of hours telephone: 08452 777 778

Get Adobe Reader Adobe Reader is required to view the PDF documents on this page. If you don't have it, download it free from