Appendix 1

Amendments to the Order of Reference of Committees

To add the following new delegations (shown in bold):

- 3 COMMUNITES COMMITTEE
 - (4) Technical and Property Services
 - Add (12) Following recommendation by the Northern Roads Collaboration Joint Committee, to consider proposals for participation in Roads Collaboration activities.

Add 10 THE NORTHERN ROADS COLLABORATION JOINT COMMITTEE

The Northern Roads Collaboration Joint Committee is a Joint Committee established by Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeenshire Council, Angus Council, Argyll and Bute Council, The Highland Council, The Moray Council, The Orkney Islands Council and The Western Isles Council (the "Constituent Authorities") under sections 56 and 57 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.

The Joint Committee undertakes to appoint two named representatives from each Constituent Authority to its membership.

The creation of the Joint Committee represents the joint commitment of the Constituent Authorities to work collaboratively for the joint discharge of road and road-related functions, including ports and harbours (the "Roads Collaboration").

In particular it shall have the following powers:

- 1. To identify suitable projects and initiatives for Roads Collaboration and to make recommendations to Constituent Authorities.
- 2. To make recommendations to Constituent Authorities in respect of resource contribution, funding arrangements and budget setting for projects and initiatives for Roads Collaboration.
- 3. To manage resources and approve operational expenditure within agreed Joint Committee budgets for Roads Collaboration.

- 4. To monitor the effectiveness of the Roads Collaboration and to identify potential improvements and efficiencies.
- 5. To approve an annual performance report and financial statement for the reporting year on Roads Collaboration.
- 6. To approve and amend Standing Orders for the Joint Committee and any of its Sub-Committees.
- 7. To appoint the Chair and Vice Chair of the Joint Committee and any of its Sub-Committees.