ANGUS COUNCIL

MINUTE of the Special MEETING of **ANGUS COUNCIL** held in the Town and County Hall, Forfar on Tuesday 18 September 2018 at 2.53pm.

Present:

Provost RONNIE PROCTOR MBE, Depute Provost COLIN BROWN, Councillors JULIE BELL, BRIAN BOYD, KENNY BRAES, BRADEN DAVY, LYNNE DEVINE, BILL DUFF, BRENDA DURNO, DAVID FAIRWEATHER, CRAIG FOTHERINGHAM, SHEILA HANDS, ALEX KING, BEN LAWRIE, DAVID LUMGAIR, ANGUS MACMILLAN DOUGLAS OBE, MARK McDONALD, IAN McLAREN, RICHARD MOORE, BOB MYLES, MARK SALMOND, LOIS SPEED, TOMMY STEWART, RON STURROCK, DEREK WANN and BETH WHITESIDE.

PROVOST RONNIE PROCTOR, in the Chair.

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Councillors David Cheape, and Gavin Nicol.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors Myles and Braes each declared an interest in Item 3 as they had been approached by a number of constituents, however they had made no comment and as such, would participate in any discussion and voting on this item.

Councillor Hands declared an interest in Item 4 as she had been approached by a number of constituents, but had made no comment. She indicated that she would participate in any discussion and voting on this item.

Prior to consideration of the following two items, the Strategic Director-People advised members that the Children and Learning Committee had approved the proposals, as contained in Report Nos 282/18 and 283/18.

3. CLOSURE OF TARFSIDE PRIMARY SCHOOL AND AMENDMENT OF THE CATCHMENT AREA OF EDZELL PRIMARY SCHOOL

With reference to Article 9 of the minute of meeting of the Children & Learning Committee held earlier today, there was submitted Report No 282/18 by the Strategic Director – People seeking approval to close Tarfside Primary School and amend the catchment area of Edzell Primary School to take in the current catchment area of Tarfside Primary School.

The Report indicated that the consultation for the proposed closure of Tarfside Primary School had been carried out in accordance with the Schools (Consultation) (Scotland) Act 2010.

Having heard from a number of members, the Council resolved:-

- to note the prior consideration of the Children and Learning Committee;
- (ii) to approve the closure of Tarfside Primary School, Tarfside, Glenesk, Brechin DD9 7YU; and amend the catchment area of the current Edzell Primary School, to include the catchment area of Tarfside Primary School; and
- (iii) to refer this decision to Scottish Ministers in accordance with the Schools (Consultation) (Scotland) Act 2010.

Councillor Myles, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 16(11)(ii), requested that his dissent be recorded from the foregoing decision.

4. CLOSURE OF LETHNOT PRIMARY SCHOOL AND AMENDMENT OF THE CATCHMENT AREA OF EDZELL PRIMARY SCHOOL

With reference to Article 10 of the minute of meeting of the Children & Learning Committee held earlier today, there was submitted Report No 283/18 by the Strategic Director – People

seeking approval to close Lethnot Primary School and amend the catchment area of Edzell Primary School to take in the current catchment area of Lethnot Primary School.

The Report indicated that the consultation for the proposed closure of Lethnot Primary School had been carried out in accordance with the Schools (Consultation) (Scotland) Act 2010.

The Council resolved:-

- (i) to note the prior consideration of the Children and Learning Committee;
- (ii) to approve the closure of Lethnot Primary School, Bridge End, Glen Lethnot, Brechin DD9 7UQ; and amend the catchment area of the current Edzell Primary School, to include the catchment area of Lethnot Primary School; and
- (iii) to refer this decision to Scottish Ministers in accordance with the Schools (Consultation) (Scotland) Act 2010.

5. WINTER MAINTENANCE FOOTWAY TREATMENT

With reference to Article 4(vii) of the minute of meeting of Angus Council of 6 September 2018, there was submitted Report No 298/18 by the Head of Infrastructure presenting options for members' consideration following on from the agreement by the Council of a motion.

The Report recommended that the Council:-

- (i) notes the options in Section 6 and detailed in Appendix 5 of the Report to provide winter footway services in accordance with the allocated budget and in accordance with the statutory duty under the Roads (Scotland) Act 1984;
- (ii) determines which option and policy to implement for the 2018/19 season, in consideration of the risks set out in Section 8; and
- (iii) notes the future consultation as set out in the motion of 6 September 2018, as detailed in Section 7 which sought an approach to the future policy.

COUNCILLOR SALMOND, SECONDED BY COUNCILLOR STEWART, MOVED THAT THE COUNCIL APPROVES OPTION 4 (E TO H), BEING:-

- E) REDUCE FOOTWAY TREATMENT ROUTES IN MONIFIETH AND DIVERT MINITRACTOR TO MUIRHEAD/BIRKHILL AND WELLBANK. FURTHER REDUCTIONS IN THE ROUTE IN MONIFIETH CREATE CAPACITY FOR RESOURCES TO TREAT SOME FOOTWAYS IN MUIRHEAD/BIRKHILL AND WELLBANK AS AN ALTERNATIVE POSSIBLE OPTION WHEN COMBINED WITH OTHER SIMILAR ALTERNATIVES.
- F) REDUCE FOOTWAY TREATMENT ROUTES IN BRECHIN AND DIVERT MINITRACTOR TO EDZELL AND FRIOCKHEIM. FURTHER REDUCTIONS IN THE ROUTE IN BRECHIN CREATE CAPACITY FOR RESOURCES TO TREAT SOME FOOTWAYS IN EDZELL AND FRIOCKHEIM AS AN ALTERNATIVE POSSIBLE OPTION WHEN COMBINED WITH OTHER SIMILAR ALTERNATIVES.
- G) REDUCE FOOTWAY TREATMENT ROUTES IN FORFAR AND DIVERT MINITRACTOR TO LETHAM. A FURTHER REDUCTION IN THE ROUTES IN FORFAR CREATES CAPACITY FOR RESOURCES TO TREAT SOME FOOTWAYS IN LETHAM AS AN ALTERNATIVE POSSIBLE OPTION WHEN COMBINED WITH OTHER SIMILAR ALTERNATIVES.
- H) REDUCE FOOTWAY TREATMENT ROUTES IN MONTROSE AND DIVERT MINITRACTORS TO HILLSIDE AND FERRYDEN. FURTHER REDUCTIONS IN THE ROUTES IN MONTROSE CREATE CAPACITY FOR TO TREAT SOME FOOTWAYS IN HILLSIDE AND FERRYDEN AS AN ALTERNATIVE POSSIBLE OPTION WHEN COMBINED WITH OTHER SIMILAR ALTERNATIVES.

Councillor Duff, seconded by Councillor Braes, moved as an amendment, that the Council approves Option 5 (ie: retain the proposals as set out in Report No 59/18)

On a vote being taken, members voted:-

For the motion:-

Provost Ronnie Proctor, Depute Provost Colin Brown, Councillors Boyd, Davy, Devine, Durno, Fairweather, Fotheringham, Hands, King, Lawrie, Lumgair, Macmillan Douglas, McDonald, McLaren, Moore, Myles, Salmond, Speed, Stewart, Sturrock, Wann and Whiteside (23).

For the amendment:-

Councillors Bell, Braes and Duff (3).

The motion was declared carried and the Council resolved accordingly.