Arbroath Fairtrade Action Group AGM, 29th January 2019

7.30pm St Andrew's Church, Arbroath

Present: Paula Fenwick, Evelyn Fordyce, Jean Glass, Janice Swankie, Margaret Todd

Apologies: Karen Bowie, Rebecca Brown, Caroline Farquhar

The AGM was held first.

Chairperson Evelyn Fordyce opened the meeting by welcoming all.

The Minutes from the AGM of 30 January 2018 were approved by all those present at the meeting.

EF then gave Chairperson's Report on previous year 2018 — a copy will be sent out to all members with the circulation of the AGM and ordinary minutes too.

Included in the report were mentions of the many and varied activities that the group had taken part in over the last year and highlighted was the re-accreditation of our group's Fairtrade Status. Congratulations also to Arbroath Academy in being awarded Fairtrade status and particular thanks to Karen Bowie and her work with the pupils over the years in achieving this award.

The Treasurer's Report was then given by JS who noted that the account is healthy. A donation of £300 was gifted to Traidcraft and letter received with thanks. This year money will be donated to the proposed rescheduled wine tasting event.

Accounts approved by all those present at the meeting.

Karen Bowie and Caroline Farquhar are stepping down from the group. Although Karen advised that she will still be available, if needed, to assist at any planned Fairtrade events for this year, 2019.

The group wanted to thank both Karen and Caroline for their support to the Arbroath Fairtrade Action Group, and special thanks to Karen for her valuable and timeously work whilst she was the group's secretary.

Note — Karen wished to pass on her thanks and this message from the Academy

"The Academy thanks the Town group for all its help and support in the past. Knowing that the group was there, being able to use the group's Traidcraft stall, taking part in Coffee Morning/Afternoon Teas and indeed being able to reference the group in various conversations within the school, all have been a great help in keeping our wee school group going and undoubtedly helped us in our proud achievement, of becoming officially recognized as a FT school. Thank you Arbroath FT Action Group!"

Election of Office Bearers - The group noted that the numbers are now very low and the existing Committee members were re-elected on block approval by all those present at the meeting.

Chairperson - Evelyn Fordyce Secretary - Paula Fenwick Treasurer - Janice Swankie
The meeting was then closed and moved onto the ordinary meeting.