ANGUS COUNCIL

26 MAY 2022

NOTIFICATION OF MEMBERS ELECTED

REPORT BY MARGO WILLIAMSON, RETURNING OFFICER

ABSTRACT

This report advises the Council of the results of the Scottish Local Government elections for the eight electoral wards of Angus Council.

1. RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Council

(i) Note the results of the Scottish Local Government elections held on Thursday 5 May 2022 for the Angus local government area.

2. ALIGNMENT TO THE COUNCIL PLAN

• Our communities to be strong, resilient and led by citizens

3. BACKGROUND

Scottish Local Government elections were held on Thursday 5 May 2022 for the return of 28 councillors to represent the eight multi-member wards in Angus.

4. CURRENT POSITION

After the counting of the votes cast for each candidate on Friday 6 May 2022, the following persons have been duly elected to serve as councillors:

Ward 1 – Kirriemuir and Dean	(3 members)
Name	Party
Julie Bell	Scottish National Party (SNP)
George Meechan	Scottish National Party (SNP)
Ronnie Proctor	Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Ward 2 - Brechin and Edzell (3	3 members)
Name	Party
Chris Beattie	Scottish National Party (SNP)
Jill Brown Scott	Independent
Gavin Nicol	Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Ward 3 - Forfar and District (4	members)
Name	Party
Linda Clark	Scottish National Party (SNP)
Lynne Devine	Scottish National Party (SNP)
Ross Greig	Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Ian McLaren	Independent
Ward 4 - Monifieth and Sidlaw	v (4 members)
Name	Party
Heather Doran	Scottish Labour Party
Craig Fotheringham	Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Lloyd Melville	Scottish National Party (SNP)
Beth Whiteside	Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 5 - Carnoustie and District (3 mei			
Name	Party		
Brian Boyd	Independent		
David Cheape	Independent		
Mark McDonald	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
Ward 6 – Arbroath West, Letham and Friockheim (4 members)			
Name	Party		
Serena Cowdy	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
David Fairweather	Independent		
Louise Nicol	Scottish Conservative and Unionist		
Martin Shepherd	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
Ward 7 – Arbroath East and Lunan (3 members)			
Name	Party		
Brenda Durno	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
Lois Speed	Independent		
Derek Wann	Scottish Conservative and Unionist		
Ward 8 – Montrose and District (4 members)			
Name	Party		
Kenny Braes	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
Bill Duff	Scottish National Party (SNP)		
lain Gall	Scottish Conservative and Unionist		
Tommy Stewart	Independent		

A full breakdown of results for each ward are available to download from the Council's website <u>Elections and voting | Angus Council</u> along with other key reports.

5. FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications arising from this report.

6. EQUALITY IMPACT ASSESSMENT

An Equality Impact Assessment is not required as there is no differential impact on people with protected characteristics in terms of this report.

NOTE: No background papers, as detailed by Section 50D of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (other than any containing confidential or exempt information) were relied on to a material extent in preparing the above report.

REPORT AUTHOR: Shona Cameron, Manager – Elections, Commercialisation & Facilities EMAIL DETAILS: <u>elections@angus.gov.uk</u>