ANGUS COUNCIL

MINUTE of HYBRID REQUISITIONED MEETING of **ANGUS COUNCIL** held in Town & County Hall, Forfar on Tuesday 5 December 2023 at 4.00pm.

Present: DEPUTE PROVOST LINDA CLARK, Councillors CHRIS BEATTIE, JULIE BELL, KENNY BRAES, DAVID CHEAPE, SERENA COWDY, LYNNE DEVINE, HEATHER DORAN, BILL DUFF, BRENDA DURNO, DAVID FAIRWEATHER, CRAIG FOTHERINGHAM, IAIN GALL, ROSS GREIG, MARK MCDONALD, IAN MCLAREN, GEORGE MEECHAN, LLOYD MELVILLE, GAVIN NICOL, LOUISE NICOL, RONNIE PROCTOR MBE, JILL SCOTT, MARTIN SHEPHERD, LOIS SPEED, TOMMY STEWART, DEREK WANN and BETH WHITESIDE.

DEPUTE PROVOST LINDA CLARK, in the Chair.

1. APOLOGIES

An apology for absence was intimated on behalf of Provost Brian Boyd.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST OR STATEMENTS OF TRANSPARENCY

There were no declarations of interest or statements of transparency made.

3. **REQUISITION REQUEST**

Procedural Motion

Councillor Wann, seconded by Councillor Gavin Nicol, moved the following procedural motion:-

To request that Council suspend in part Standing Order 25(1) to remove the word 'ordinary' from the first line thereof and to suspend in part Standing Order 25(2) to remove the word 'ordinary' from the second line thereof, solely for the purpose of allowing the undernoted motion to be considered by Council at this Special Meeting of Council. In accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 27 this motion, if duly seconded, shall be put to the vote immediately without amendment or discussion.

On a vote being taken, the members voted:-

For the motion:-

Depute Provost Clark, Councillors Beattie, Bell, Braes, Cheape, Cowdy, Devine, Doran, Duff, Durno, Fairweather, Fotheringham, Gall, Greig, McDonald, McLaren, Meechan, Melville, Gavin Nicol, Louise Nicol, Proctor, Scott, Shepherd, Speed, Stewart, Wann, Whiteside (27).

Against the motion:-

Nil.

The motion was declared carried and the Council resolved accordingly.

Notice of Motion

Cllr Wann, seconded by Councillor Gavin Nicol, moved the following motion:-

- 1. Angus Councillors request that the Chief Executive write to the Scottish Government and ask that they declare Brechin a "Environmental Climate Vulnerable Area.
- 2. That the Scottish Government re-evaluate the derisory payments to residents and businesses with payments that reimburse them for belongings and equipment for lost income and wellbeing.

- 3. The Scottish Government bring forward an Action Plan as a matter of urgency, including funding that will give assurance to residents and business they have not been forgotten or abandoned.
- 4. A vote of No Confidence is taken on the Leader of Angus Council, the SNP/Coalition Administration, and the Scottish Government that their handling of this Disaster, has been well short of expectations for the people of Brechin and Angus.

There are no additional financial implications for the Council as a consequence of this motion.

Councillor Whiteside, seconded by Councillor Beattie, moved as an amendment, to oppose the motion.

Members took the opportunity to make comment in relation to the motion.

Having heard from Councillors Wann, Gavin Nicol, Whiteside, Beattie, Fairweather, Braes, Greig, Proctor and Doran, Councillor Cheape, seconded by Councillor Melville, moved in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 18(1), as a procedural motion, 'that the question be now put' ie: for closure of the debate.

On a vote being taken, the members voted:-

For closure of the debate:-

Depute Provost Clark, Councillors Beattie, Bell, Braes, Cheape, Cowdy, Devine, Duff, Durno, McDonald, Meechan, Melville, Shepherd and Whiteside (14).

Against closure of the debate:-

Councillors Doran, Fairweather, Fotheringham, Gall, Greig, McLaren, Gavin Nicol, Louise Nicol, Proctor, Scott, Speed, Stewart, Wann (13).

The motion for closure of the debate having been declared carried, Councillor Wann then summed up.

Thereafter, the members voted:-

For the motion by Councillor Wann:-

Councillors Fairweather, Fotheringham, Gall, Greig, McLaren, Gavin Nicol, Louise Nicol, Proctor, Stewart, Wann (10).

For the amendment by Councillor Whiteside:-

Depute Provost Clark, Councillors Beattie, Bell, Braes, Cheape, Cowdy, Devine, Doran, Duff, Durno, McDonald, Meechan, Melville, Scott, Shepherd, Speed, Whiteside (17).

The amendment was declared carried and the Council resolved accordingly.