## ANGUS COUNCIL

MINUTE of ADJOURNED HYBRID MEETING of the **DEVELOPMENT STANDARDS COMMITTEE** held in the Town and County Hall, Forfar on Tuesday 13 February 2024 at 3.30pm.

Present: Councillors DAVID CHEAPE, BRENDA DURNO, CHRIS BEATTIE, KENNY BRAES,

LINDA CLARK, BILL DUFF AND IAN McLAREN.

Councillor CHEAPE, Convener, in the Chair.

## 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Councillors Heather Doran, Iain Gall, Lloyd Melville. Gavin Nicol and Tommv Stewart.

## 2. PLANNING APPEAL DECISION: LAND OPPOSITE WESTFIELD DRIVE, WESTFIELD LOAN, FORFAR

There was submitted Report No 40/24 by the Service Leader – Planning and Sustainable Growth presenting the findings of the Reporter appointed by Scottish Ministers to determine an appeal by Muir Homes Ltd in relation to the refusal of planning permission for a residential development of 159 dwellings, including the formation of vehicular access, access roads, open space, landscaping, SuDS, and associated infrastructure on land opposite Westfield Drive, Westfield Loan, Forfar. The Reporter dismissed the appeal and refused planning permission.

The Committee agreed to note the outcome of the appeal.

## 3. SECTION 43A – SCHEME OF DELEGATION TO OFFICERS – REPORT ON OUTCOME OF MEMBER OFFICER WORKING GROUP

There was submitted Report No 41/24 by the Service Leader – Planning and Sustainable Growth updating the Committee on the review of the Council's statutory scheme of delegation for determination of planning applications under Section 43A of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1997 undertaken by the short life member officer group and seeking approval for a minor change to the existing scheme.

After hearing from the Service Leader – Planning and Sustainable Growth the Committee agreed: -

- (i) to approve the proposed revision to the Section 43A planning scheme of delegation as set out in Appendix 1 to the Report; and
- (ii) that the scheme of delegation be submitted to Angus Council for approval before submission to Scottish Ministers.