ANGUS COUNCIL

MINUTE of SPECIAL(REQUISITIONED) HYBRID MEETING of **ANGUS COUNCIL** held in the Town and County Hall, Forfar on Tuesday 22 April 2025 at 4.30pm.

Present:

Provost LINDA CLARK, Depute Provost DAVID CHEAPE, Councillors CHRIS BEATTIE, JULIE BELL, BRIAN BOYD, KENNY BRAES, SERENA COWDY, JACK CRUICKSHANKS, LYNNE DEVINE, HEATHER DORAN, BILL DUFF, BRENDA DURNO, CRAIG FOTHERINGHAM, IAIN GALL, ROSS GREIG, MARK MCDONALD, IAN MCLAREN, GEORGE MEECHAN, LLOYD MELVILLE, GAVIN NICOL, LOUISE NICOL, RONNIE PROCTOR MBE, JILL SCOTT, MARTIN SHEPHERD, LOIS SPEED, TOMMY STEWART, DEREK WANN and BETH WHITESIDE.

PROVOST CLARK, in the Chair.

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies intimated.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST AND STATEMENTS OF TRANSPARENCY

There were no declarations of interest or statements of transparency made.

3. REQUISITION REQUEST

Notice of Motion

Cllr Wann, seconded by Councillor Fotheringham, moved the following motion:-

That Angus Council:-

- 1. has no confidence in the current administration and leadership of Angus Council and as such:
- 2. forms a new administration comprising 13 members, namely:

Councillors Cruickshanks, Doran, Fotheringham, Gall, Greig, McLaren, Meechan, Gavin Nicol, Louise Nicol, Proctor, Scott, Stewart and Wann, having noted that Councillors Meechan and Wann would be appointed as Leader and Depute Leader, respectively of the Council;

- to agree that all political appointments including Provost, Depute Provost, Conveners and Vice-Conveners will become vacant and the removal of existing appointees will be with immediate effect:
- 4. that a Special meeting of Angus Council be held as soon as practicable to consider the appointment of the Provost and Depute Provost, appointments to Standing Committees including the appointment of Conveners and Vice-Conveners, and the renumeration of elected members; and
- 5. that all Committee meetings scheduled between this (the requisitioned meeting) and then (the next Special Council meeting) will be on hold until the appointments to Committees have been confirmed.

There are no additional financial implications for the Council as a consequence of this motion.

Councillor Duff, seconded by Councillor McDonald, moved as an amendment, that this Council agrees:-

- (i) that it has confidence in the current Administration, the Council Leader and all current Council appointments; and
- (ii) that the status quo is maintained in terms of the current Administration.

Councillor Wann provided clarification as to a number of points, should the motion prevail. In relation to the Civic Licensing Committee scheduled to be held on 24 April 2025, he confirmed that as the Reports were time critical that the meeting take place as called. He also confirmed that the appointments to outside bodies would continue until the calling notice for a Special meeting of Angus Council to consider the appointments was published at which time those appointments would become vacant.

Thereafter, members were provided with an opportunity to ask questions or make comment in relation to the both the motion and amendment following which Councillor Wann summed up.

On a vote being taken, the members voted:-

For the motion by Councillor Wann:-

Councillors Cruickshanks, Doran, Fotheringham, Gall, Greig, McLaren, Meechan, Gavin Nicol, Louise Nicol, Proctor, Scott, Speed, Stewart and Wann (14).

For the amendment by Councillor Duff:-

Provost Clark, Depute Provost Cheape, Councillors Beattie, Bell, Boyd, Braes, Devine, Duff, Durno, McDonald, Melville, Shepherd and Whiteside (13).

No Vote:-

Councillor Cowdy (1).

The motion was declared carried and the Council resolved accordingly.