Public holidays

Angus Council offices are closed on the following dates:

2019

  • Tuesday 1 January 
  • Wednesday 2 January 
  • Monday 1 April 
  • Monday 6 May 
  • Friday 6 December 
  • Wednesday 25 December 
  • Thursday 26 December 

Visit the ANGUSalive website for public holidays and opening hours for:

  • sports centres
  • country parks
  • museums
  • libraries

Arbroath

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 8 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • St Tammas Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 30 September 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Wednesday

Brechin

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 8 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 23 September 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Wednesday

Carnoustie

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 1 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 7 October 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Tuesday

Forfar

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 8 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 30 September 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Thursday

Kirriemuir

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 22 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 7 October 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Thursday

Monifieth

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 1 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 7 October 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Friday

Montrose

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 8 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Monday 6 May 
  • Shopkeepers' Midsummer Holiday - Monday 24 June 
  • Trades' Holiday - Monday 22 July 
  • Autumn Holiday - Monday 16 September 
  • St Andrew's Day - Friday 6 December 

Early Closing Day - Wednesday

Please note that in 2020, Europe Day Holiday will be a Friday to coincide with the 75th anniversary of VE Day.

Arbroath

  • Spring Holiday - Monday 13 April 
  • Europe Day Holiday - Friday 8 May 
  • St Tammas Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 28 September
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Wednesday

Brechin

  • Spring Holiday Monday 13 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May 
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 28 September
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Wednesday

Carnoustie

  • Spring Holiday Monday 6 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 5 October
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Tuesday

Forfar

  • Spring Holiday Monday 13 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 28 September
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Thursday

Kirriemuir

  • Spring Holiday Monday 13 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 5 October
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Thursday

Monifieth

  • Spring Holiday Monday 6 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 5 October
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Friday

Montrose

  • Spring Holiday Monday 13 April
  • Europe Day Holiday Friday 8 May *
  • Shopkeepers' Midsummer Holiday Monday 22 June
  • Trades' Holiday Monday 27 July
  • Autumn Holiday Monday 21 September
  • St Andrew's Day Friday 4 December

Early Closing Day - Wednesday